Champ

Good morning to the sweetest soul
sleeping soundly at my side
with fading nose
and failing eyes
you search me out in the dawn
and stick your face in my neck
12039746_10102845118346898_2984062636839099061_n.jpgand sigh.

When the sky exploded
and hellfire tore away
the reality of my existence
there was only one constant:

Just a set of socked feet
and a wiggling tail
a soft nudge and
a tongue swipe on my endless tears.

Some will tell me I’m crazy
but I’m perfectly OK with the truth:
I’ve been here 33 years
and yet the only soul
who can see me in this body
is a four-legged mutt
who used to eat his own poo.

 Champion

Leave a Reply

